Following the mens competition in early September, the womens competition of the Club de Recreio Centenary Tournament was held last Saturday which ended on a high note. Everyone enjoyed a wonderful morning of excellent Club de Recreio hospitality in such a pleasant grass field venue.  Many thanks to Club de Recreio.

Cup WinnersPlate WinnersBowl Winners
Club de Recreio AShaheen BPolice

The Hockey Training Course for Adults 2009/10 is now open for enrolment.  There are two Beginner Courses (19 Sep 2009 – 20 Feb 2010) and one Intermediate Course (6 Mar – 24 Apr 2010) which cover different levels of skills for beginner and intermediate level hockey players.  The courses are designed to equip you with basic skills that will enable you to participate in the winter league.  The number of places is limited, so act now.  The application form can be downloaded here.


In view of large demand, one additional briefing session on the new rules will be run on 28 Aug (Fri) 19:00 hrs at HKFC.  All convenors, managers, coaches, captains are strongly advised to attend if they are not available to attend this Sunday.

The league season 2009/10 is due to start shortly. All umpires are reminded that they are required to attend at least one refresher course before they can be qualified to umpire.  Refresher courses (40 mins each) will be run on 30 Aug 09 (Sun) at Kings Park and 2 Sep 09 (Wed) at HKFC.

Courses at Kings Park on 30 Aug 09 (Sun) are scheduled at :-
i) 13:30 to 14:10
ii) 14:30 to 15:10
ii) 15:30 to 16:10
iv) 16:30 to 17:10

The other refresher course at HKFC is scheduled for 19:00 hrs on 2 Sep (Wed).

All umpires including TP class are invited. Please remember to bring along your registration cards for renewal.

The new Rules of Hockey came into effect on 1 May 2009.  Briefing sessions for clubs will be held on 23 Aug 2009 (this Sunday) at King’s Park Conference Room to explain and answer any questions in particular about 2 major changes i.e.;
a) Self-pass
b) Procedure of free hits (including corners and sidelines restarts) taken by the attacking team inside the 23 meter area.
All Convenors, Managers, Coaches, Team Captains/Vice Captains are invited and following time slots are available;
1) From 13:30 to 14:10
2) From 14:30 to 15:10
3) From 15:30 to 16:10
4) From 16:30 to 17:10
The latest Rules of Hockey can be downloaded from
P & D Section will have the 7th Hong Kong Youth Hockey Tournament (9-A-Side) on 12 July 2009 (Sunday) at King’s Park Hockey Ground, 12:00-18:00.  We have 7 boys teams (KCC Lions, KCC Dragons, St. Paul’s College, United Christian College, Tam Lee Lai Fun Memorial Secondary School, Hong Kong Sikhs, Khalsa Sports Club) this year.  You are welcome to support our boys this Sunday.

Two overseas school boy teams namely School Sport Australia (U18) and Yunfu Sports Institute (from western Guangdong) are visiting Hong Kong next week and will play a series of friendly matches against HKHA Youth Select.

All matches are scheduled for 4:30pm (except the Playoff match), King’s Park Hockey Ground as follows:-

6 Jul 2009    School Sport Australia vs HKHA Youth Select

7 Jul 2009    School Sport Australia vs Yunfu Sports Institute

8 Jul 2009    Yunfu Sports Institute vs HKHA Youth Select

9 Jul 2009    5:30pm  School Sport Australia vs Yunfu Sports Institute (Playoff)

The Women’s Section AGM was held yesterday at the King’s Park Conference Room.  Minutes of the last AGM and the committee reports were read and passed. 

Kitty Yau and Renee Spencer will stay on the committee as Chairman and Vice Chairman with other committee members being elected at yesterday’s meetings. 

However, the Fixtures & Grounds Secretary and Umpires Secretary positions are still vacant.  The Women’s Section would like to urge women players to consider running these positions in the 2009-2010 season.  Please contact our Administrative Assistant, Chi, if you’re interested. 

At the end of the meeting last night, awards (see full list here) of the season were presented by Sarinder Dillon, President of the Hong Kong Hockey Association.





1st Round
Division 1Brenda Smith TrophyHKFC A
Division 2Littlefair CupDutch
Division 3The Jean Field CupShaheen B
Division 4Betty Mair CupPolice
Division 5The Chris Fraser Memorial CupSkyers
2nd Round
1st Division – WinnersEsra Abraham CupHKFC A
1st Division – Runners-upSouthorn CupKCC A
2nd Division – WinnersHughes CupDutch
2nd Division – Runners-upConway CupElite A
3rd Division – WinnersLuddington TrophyShaheen B
3rd Division – Runners-upAveril Waters TrophyHKFC D
4th Division – WinnersCarter CupPolice
4th Division – Runners-upDeayton CupAquila B
5th Division – WinnersShaheen CupSkyers
5th Division – Runners-upArissa CupLHT


Knockout Compeition
Knockout CupGremlins CupHKFC A
Knockout PlateGremlins PlateDutch
Knockout BowlChairman’s BowlWS Jasmine
Knockout SaucerChairman’s SaucerKCC C


9 a-side Tournament
1st DivisionJudy Cox Memorial BowlKCC A
2nd DivisionEvelyn Osmund CupDutch
3rd DivisionOsmund CupAquila A
4th DivisionA de O Sales TrophyWS Jasmine
5th DivisionJasmine TrophyPhoenix


Player AwardsWinners
Most Improved GoalKeeperYIP Ting Wai
Most Promising JuniorSamara EMETT
Most Outstanding PlayerKatherine Mountain

The HKHA Cup and Plate is sponsored by the Bank of China under the 2009 Festival of Sports Programme. The knockout tournament is organized by the Hong Kong Hockey Association.

For this year’s HKHA Cup final, Kowloon Cricket Club D will be taking on defending Champions Hong Kong Cricket Club A and the Plate final will be between Nav Bharat Club and 144 United B. The Plate final will push back at 1030 a.m. and the Cup final at 12.30pm on 24 May 2009 (Sun) at King’s Park Hockey Ground respectively.  Just prior to the Cup final match at 12:30 pm, HKHA will be presenting trophies to the following 2008-09 Divisional Champions and Youth Champions. The Premier Division Champions trophy will be presented to the winning team on 31/5/09 at KP after the match between Shaheen A and HKFC A. This season’s 08-09 Divisional Champions are:

1st Division2nd Division3rd Division4th Division5th Division
HKFC B(To be confirmed)KCC DRecreio C144U C

Youth Cup – The finalists, KCC & Valley, will play the cup final on Saturday 23 May at KP at 10:30am.

Come and enjoy!

The Rabobank Holland Cup is sponsored by Rabobank and jointly organized by the Hong Kong Hockey Association and Dutch Hockey Club.  This year, 2008 Beijing Olympic gold medalist Dutch Women’s Hockey Team captain Minke Booij will be one of the officiating guests at the final as part of her 3 day visit to Hong Kong.

For this year’s final, Kowloon Cricket Club will be taking on defending champions Shaheen Sports Club.  KCC had won the prestigious trophy for a total of 6 times in the clubs history in 1959, 1971, 1978, 1990, 1992 & 1999.  Shaheen, on the other hand, had 11 Holland Cup titles in 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, & 2008.

The cup final will push back at 3.30pm on 10 May 2009 (Sun) at King’s Park Hockey Ground.   Just prior to the match at 2:00pm, HKHA will be hosting the Worldhockey Youth Challenge 2009 “Magic Tricks”.  Young hockey stars will be showing off their hockey talent in this global youth hockey festival.   See you there!

Hong Kong Macau Interport 08-09 will be held on the 19 April 2009 (Sunday) at King’s Park Hockey Ground.  The games to be played are appended below.  Let’s come and enjoy the games as well as give support to our Hong Kong teams!

Games are as follows:

11:00   Veterans 
13:00   U21 Men 
15:00   Women Development 
17:00   Senior Men

Hope to see you all there and enjoy the games.